🇳🇱Van 1-3 juni 2020 vond voor de vierde maal het International Rosé Championship plaats in Sieraków, nabij Krakau, Polen. Oorspronkelijk was deze competitie gepland op 1-3 april maar door de corona-uitbraak werd hij uitgesteld. Deze editie werden 251 rosé wijnen ingezonden uit 25 landen.

🇬🇧The 4th annual International Rosé Championship took place on June 1-3 2020 in Sieraków, near Krakow, Poland (with 1-3 April as initial date for the competition). Held in the picturesque setting of Lesser Poland, the competition included 251 submitted rosé wines from 25 countries.

21 Gold medals for 12 different countries

Due to logistic Covid-19 related difficulties not all the samples have been successfully shipped and not all the regular jurors have been given chance to attend. Most of the samples were submitted by producers from Italy, France, Australia, Romania or Portugal but the jurors tasted rosés also from USA, Cyprus, Georgia, Sweden or Taiwan. This great diversity translated into the results of the contest, in which 21 gold medals were given to the wines representing 12 different countries (6 for Italy, 3 for Australia, 2 for Germany and Georgia, then 1 for France, Greece, New Zealand, Uruguay, Hungary, Czech Republic, Chile and Austria).

86 silver medals were awarded to all the wines scored 86-88,99 (out of which 21 went to France and 19 to Italy).

Rose championship proeverij 2020

Wide diversity in grape varieties

Wines tasted at the competition were produced of more than 90 different cultivars, including such rare grapes as Black Queen (Taiwan), Mavrofilero (Greece), Sirame (Switzerland, Sweden), Dzelshavi or Chkhaveri (Georgia) or Manto Negro (Mallorca). It was a general impression of all the regular jurors at the IRC that this year’s edition has brought together wines of the quality much higher than the former ones.

International Rosé Championship, the jury

Samples has been blind tasted in two days under the presidency of Elizabeth Gabay MW (France/UK) by 12 jurors representing 7 different countries: Paul White (USA/New Zealand), José Luis Murcia Garcia (Spain), Anne-Wies van Oosten (The Netherlands/Romania), Jochen Erler (Austria), and Anna Fotowicz, Ania Smolec, Justyna Suchocka, Lukasz Wojnarowicz, Grzegorz Gajoz, Izabela Piszczkiewicz and Kasia Puk (Poland).

Rose championship AW en map (1)


The wines receiving most divergent scores where retasted by the chairs of the commissions. All the wines scored over 88 points have been finally retasted by all the jurors to find the winners (on the basis of the rule that best score wins).

The Best Rosé of 2020

Der Rosé 2016
Weingut Braunewell/Dinter

Braunewell Dinter Der Rose trocken

For the complete list of the winners please check the website of the International Rosé Championship: www.rosechampionship.com

🍇🍷🍴Geen enkel culinair nieuwtje missen? Schrijf je dan hier in ✏️ voor onze wekelijkse nieuwsbrief!